Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Students and donors gather at annual scholarship dinner

After three years of hosting events online, the Civil Engineering Professional Advisory Council (CEPAC) joined donors, students, and faculty for its annual Scholarship Reception and Awards Dinner on Nov. 3 at UIC.

Through the generosity of donors and partners, the Department of Civil, Materials, and Environmental Engineering awarded 71 scholarships this year. The support helps UIC in its mission to provide access to excellent education and success for students.

During the event, students received a certificate, and, in many cases, were able to meet the donor of their scholarship or a corporate representative as they networked during dinner and after the scholarships were awarded.

In addition to the student scholarships, faculty members Amir lranmanesha and Ahmed Abokifa were awarded the Christopher B. and Susan S. Burke Civil Engineering Faculty Teaching Award for demonstrating dedication to students and a passion for teaching. It further recognizes those faculty members who have made an impact by engaging students and committing to their personal and academic success.


David Boyce Graduate Scholarship
Nahid Parvez Farazi, Rishabh Chauhan, Mohammadjavad Javadinasr

Robert H. Bryant Scholarship Fund
Megan Bowman, Andrew Greter

Rosemary Burke Scholarship
Ruby Cardenas, Michelle Lemus Alvarez, Johanna Alexis Saulog, Ina Torres

Clark Dietz Scholarship
Jildardo Luna

Engineering Annual Merit Scholarship Fund
Kayla Bates

Professor Edward H. Coe Scholarship
Jesus Avila, Miguel Hernandez

CEO Scholarship in Engineering Fund
Stephanie Cuzco

L.J. Halbert Merit Scholarship
Haley Dahl

Nancy Anderson Holmes Scholarship
Karen Moreno

Illinois Asphalt Pavement Association Jerry Leifheit Memorial Scholarship
Kristen Moore, NijatOazi

Illinois Road and Transportation Builder’s Association (IRTBA) Scholarship
Saharah Witte

Irene N. Jones Scholarship
Hannah Hofer

Kasi Charitable Foundation Scholarship
Kevin Phillips, Lydia Vulich

Professor Dusan Krajcinovic Scholarship
Muhammad Abdullah

Dusan Krajcinovic and Family Scholarship
Karolina Dorula

Olive C. and Alfred L. Kuehn Scholarship
Josue Aguilar, Christian Correa, Alisher Dardanbayev, Faraz Khan, Santos Montoto Vega, Ismael Sanchez

William and Ruth Davidson Langelier Scholarship
Eric Callisen, Jildardo Luna, Michael Yonker

Francis C. Moon Scholarship
Luke Vucic

Kenneth E. Nelson Scholarship
Stephanie Eleese Santos

Samartano & Company/ Henry Marek Scholarship
Edwardo Serrano

Sargeant & Lundy Scholarship
Ruby Cardenas, Star Enonuya, Wael Hassan, Gustavo Morales

Thomas and Romana Ting Scholarship
Haley Dahl

Turner Construction Company Scholarship
Ashley Chavez, Erik Dienethal, Sulaman Hyder, Grant Jarrett, Jeremy Yakes

UIC Brindley Scholarship Fund
Alberto Torres

UIC CEPAC Scholarship
Alex Hernandez, Eve Maali, Valdemar Segura, Omar Vazquez

UIC Credit Union 1 Engineering Scholarship Fund
Jimena Adame, Alexander Banuelos, Kurt Castillo, Daniel Dubinsky, Valeria Hernandez, Cesar Lomeli Pulido, Anthony Morales, Roman Moreno Jr., Nancy Robles, Kevin Salau, Alondra Santos, Johanna Alexis Saulog, Ina Torres

UIC Harold R. Sandberg Scholarship Fund
Michelle Lemus Alvarez, Jildardo Luna, Stephanie Ellesse Santos

Rose L. Vedral Scholarship
Phuc Phan, Dominik Wieckowicz